Let’s Cast…RUNAWAYS

Fact: Whenever I hear someone talking about the upcoming Joan Jett biopic, I get super-excited. Then I realize it isn’t about the real Runaways. But, rumor has it that a movie based on Marvel’s popular series may, in fact, be on the way. I can’t begin to tell you how happy I’d be to see a feature film based on Runaways: the story of six kids who learn that their parents are honest-to-god supervillains and how they band together to defeat them.

I think it’s probably a no-brainer that the movie should be based on the first arc of the series. But, who should play each of the principal characters?

Percy Daggs III as Alex Wilder

Daggs was great as Wallace on Veronica Mars. He’s proven he can play funny, sweet, and loyal…I can’t imagine he’d have a problem tapping into darker characteristics to play the Runaways de facto leader.

Amanda Seyfried as Karolina Dean

Seyfried may be too old to play a teenager, but look at her. She’s the spitting image of the Runaway’s resident alien.

David Gallagher as Chase Stein

The son of mad scientists, Chase is the team’s resident hot-headed jock. He wears Fistigons–powerful, flame-producing gauntlets–stolen from his parents and is the only one who can control the Runaway’s ship, Leapfrog. I kind of remember Gallagher from 7th Heaven, and he sufficiently impressed me with his recent role on Smallville, so let’s give the kid a shot.

Devon Aoki as Nico Minoru

Not gonna lie: one of the reasons I’d cast Aoki as the daughter of dark wizards is that Nico is a very emotional character and I’d like to see Aoki have more than three lines of dialogue in one of her movies.

Abigail Breslin as Molly Hayes

Go on…tell me I’m wrong. Do it. I dare you.

Tina Majorino as Gertrude Yorkes

Gertrude’s my favorite Runaway–well, tied with Molly at the very least–and she’s always kind of reminded me of Majorino’s character from Veronica Mars. Maybe I’d ask Stan Lee to play Gertrude’s genetically engineered dinosaur Old Lace. Or maybe not.

The Pride

Idris Elba and Michael Michele as Geoffrey and Catherine Wilder

Ewan McGregor and Rachel Weisz as Dale and Stacey Yorkes


Joel Gretsch and Jeri Ryan as Frank and Leslie Dean

Alan Tudyk and Stephanie Romanov as Victor and Janet Stein

Jeffrey Donovan and Carla Gugino as Gene and Alice Hayes

Daniel Dae Kim and Ming-Na as Robert and Tina Minoru

==============================================

As the series progressed, the Runaways encounter other kids in similar situations. Since this movie would kick ass, there would totally be a sequel. Runaways 2: Still Runnin’ would introduce

Rick Gonzales as Victor Mancha

Gonzales seemed capable of dealing with devils, demons, and reapers on Reaper, so I imagine he’d be able to handle playing technopathic cyborg Victor Mancha.

Dana Davis and Lee Thompson Young as Xavin

Those wacky Skrulls, always with the shapeshifting. Dana Davis (Bones, Heroes) and Lee Thompson Young (Friday Night Lights, Smallville) would have to share the role of the Skrull prince who also happens to be Karolina’s betrothed.

6 responses to “Let’s Cast…RUNAWAYS

  1. I fully, FULLY endorse a Veronica Mars-based Runaways casting. (Wasn’t Dana Davis even on VMars for a few episodes?) And Abigail Breslin is another no-brainer (though I also like the little girl who played Molly on Heroes). David Gallagher makes me laugh because of high school memories of 7th Heaven, but I could see him fitting Chase, and the parents are all nice choices too. I approve!

    (Also, I think Devon Aoki has more than 3 lines of dialogue in D.E.B.S.? But I could be wrong; it was a fairly minor role.)

  2. Yes, I think Dana Davis was also on Veronica Mars for an episode or two.

    And, as far as I can recall, Devon Aoki’s role in D.E.B.S. consisted mostly of smoking and glaring at people menacingly…it has been a while since I saw it, though.

  3. Spot on but sealed for me with “Ewan McGregor and Rachel Weisz as Dale and Stacey Yorkes”

  4. How will we know they’re from the future unless they have silly British accents?

  5. I also endorse this Veronica-Mars-based casting!

    Though all the VM vets are getting a little old to play teenagers. Hmm.

  6. True. This is why I need a time machine.

    (I also need a time machine so I can cast Lee Marvin as Wildcat.)

Leave a Reply

