Let’s Cast…CAPTAIN AMERICA: THE FIRST AVENGER

There’s been a shit-storm of news about Marvel’s next big project this weekend. Rumors are flying around about who may or may not be auditioning, who the Big Bad will be, and whether or not Captain America’s origins will somehow be connected to the USO. I have neither the desire nor the inclination to recap all of them here.

What I do have the desire to do is climb atop my tiny virtual soapbox and declare, as loud as my little fingers can type, who should–nay, must–be cast in Captain America: The First Avenger. (Thank god the Powers That Be saw the wisdom in setting the movie in both the present and during WWII…at least I don’t have to worry about that.)

Let’s spur this iron space-pony on, shall we?

Ryan McPartlin as Steve Rogers/Captain America

There are rumors that Chuck‘s Captain Awesome may be auditioning to play Captain America. He certainly looks the part–as Rich pointed out–and, after hearing he’d done a guest spot on Mad Men, any fears I had that he couldn’t do period work were quickly soothed.

John Simm as Johann Schmidt/The Red Skull

Red Skull is the Nazi’s answer to Cap: the physical embodiment of the Third Reich. I think Simm did such a kick-ass job as Doctor Who uber-baddie The Master that, if he can do a convincing German accent, I’d like to see what he could do with Hitler’s favorite little goose-stepper.

Kyle Gallner as James “Bucky” Barnes

Steve’s sidekick during WWII, poor Bucky would seemingly die in the same accident that would freeze Cap in a block of ice for twenty years. The once optimistic Bucky would later return as the Soviet Union’s ruthless super-assassin the Winter Soldier. Gallner still kinda looks like a kid, but in a few years would probably look old enough to play a tortured version of Bucky in Captain America 3: In From the Cold.

That pretty much takes care of the three main characters from the World War II part of the film. When we fast-forward to the present, it’s a safe bet to say that Sam Jackson will be back to play Nick Fury and, more than likely, we’ll see more of the super-awesome Robert Downey, Jr. as Tony Stark. But, what about the rest of Cap’s modern-day supporting cast?

Howabout…

Yvonne Strahovski as Sharon Carter/Agent 13

McPartlin’s Chuck co-star was the first name that popped into my head to play SHIELD Agent Sharon Carter, but I thought it could be a little confusing. But, after careful consideration, I decided what the fuck…this is my movie and I can cast it however I want. If Sherlock Holmes can outrun an explosion, than Sarah Walker can be Sharon Carter.

J. August Richards as Sam Wilson/Falcon

I’ll be completely honest, I have no idea if Richards would make a good Sam, I just really like the guy and want to see him get as much work as possible. Besides, if he can handle roles on both Angel and The 4400, I think he can handle Captain America.

====================================

Now, I’ve already said that Bucky’s return as the Winter Soldier should come in the third movie, so that leaves us with one question: What happens in Captain America 2? Well, I’d like to see the story of the first Captain America–Isaiah Bradley–including both his grandson Eli “Patriot” Bradley, plus Rikki “Nomad” Barnes (we can explain Rikki away as a relative of Bucky, rather than a refugee from a parallel universe).

I’d cast Avery Brooks to play Isaiah Bradley in the present.

I’d be okay with CGI trickery to take care of any flashbacks we’d need (I think the plot should stay in the present as much as possible, focusing on Eli and how he’s struggling with the legacy that was stolen from his family).

I’d cast The Wire‘s Tristan Wilds as Isaiah’s grandson Eli Bradley, aka Patriot.

And Allison Scagliotti as Rikki Barnes/Nomad.

3 responses to “Let’s Cast…CAPTAIN AMERICA: THE FIRST AVENGER

  1. Ryan McPartlin . . . good call. When I watched his scene in Mad Men, I almost didn’t recognize him!

  2. I really have to track down that episode. (Track it down…like it’s actually THAT difficult…)

  3. It’s from the second season finale, “Meditations in an Emergency.” He’s only in two scenes but he plays a pretty pivotal role.

Leave a Reply

