Dear Hollywood: Stop Doing It Wrong!

So it seems like names are already being thrown around for Peter Jackson’s adaptation of The Hobbit. I’m sure the studio has already compiled a list of actors currently appearing in teen dramas on The CW to compete for the role of Bilbo Baggins.

We can all agree that there’s only one person out there who can play Bilbo (played in Jackson’s original trilogy by Ian Holm)…

And, that person is…

8 responses to “Dear Hollywood: Stop Doing It Wrong!

  1. Agreed! Martin Freeman would make one damned fine Bilbo!

  2. You, sir, have nailed it. I’m not going to be able to imagine anyone else now.

  3. I don’t know who that is.

    But sure.

  4. @Aaron Yes. Yes, he would.

    @Ditty Sorry…I’ve now potentially ruined the movie for you before it’s even been made.

    @Caroline That would be Martin Freeman of Britain’s The Office.

  5. @Dan Oh, don’t be silly. 🙂 They’d have to do more than not cast Martin Freeman to ruin the movie for me, I think. But casting him would definitely be a right step on the path to Awesome.

    @Caroline He’s also the guy from the nude stand-in couple from LOVE ACTUALLY, if that helps your frame of reference. 🙂

  6. Holy shit, you are so right. It’s so right it’s obvious now that I think about it.

  7. When I started, I was just thinking: “Hey, I like Martin Freeman and want to see him in more things than lame Gwyneth Paltrow movies.”

    Then, I started looking at pictures of him and Holm, and noticed more than a passing resemblance.

  8. Surely Jonathan Safran Foer, the hobbity-bobbity little man….????

Leave a comment