I Think Girls With Pointy Ears And Swords Are Hot…So Shoot Me.

I think a lot of people are surprised when I tell them that I’m not a big fan of fantasy*.  The truth is, a lot of the fantasy that I’ve read in the past has been either an obvious rip-off of Lord of the Rings, or else it’s trying so hard to be “different” that I feel like it’s a jumbled mess.  However, I’m starting to explore the world of Urban Fantasy, and I’m enjoying it so far, partly because its use of a “real world” setting keeps the epic Tolkienocity (TM) to a minimum.  I also like stories where ordinary people come face to face with supernatural (or otherwise otherworldly) shit and just have to deal with it in whatever ways they can.

I think that’s why I liked Lisa Shearin’s Magic Lost, Trouble Found so much.

magiclost

Sure, it takes place in a fantasy world with elves, goblins, dwarfs, faeries, and dragons, but it’s a lot closer to a standard Urban Fantasy novel, many of which draw on the tropes of hardboiled and noir detective stories.  It came as no surprise that Shearin is a fan of Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files, since Raine Benares–like Harry Dresden–is both detective (called a “seeker” in this world) and mage.  Raine is also sarcastic, smart, spunky, and pretty good with swords.  She also happens to be an elf (y’know, if you care about that kind of stuff).  Like every good private detective, Raine walks a delicate line between law and order, having friends and associates on both sides–just like Dresden, Spenser, Fritz Malone and Philip Marlowe.

I’ll definitely pick up the second book.

*: The exception, of course, being Robert E. Howard’s Conan stories…those kick serious ass.

9 responses to “I Think Girls With Pointy Ears And Swords Are Hot…So Shoot Me.

  1. You should give Ciara Gold’s books a try. Completely unique fantasy novels with a Sci-Fi twist.

    I’ve also been reading some Urban fantasy as of late, and I am liking most of it. I have yet to read the book you spoke of, but I have added it to my very long “books to be read” list.

    Cheers,
    Trevas

  2. Hi Dan,

    I’m so glad you enjoyed Magic Lost, Trouble Found! You’ll have to let me know how you like Armed & Magical (the second book in the series). BTW — I have sample chapters of all three books (the third is coming out April 28) up on my website at lisashearin.com.

    Thank you for your generous and gracious review!

    Lisa

  3. I like this series a lot, too. Good stuff.

  4. I feel I must try this series. So many books in the world, so little time!

  5. Hi, total stranger. I don’t know you and I don’t have anything to add to this post, but I stumbled across your blog and just thought I’d say hello. Nice blog you’ve got here.

  6. @Karen: Thanks for stopping by. The more, the merrier!

    @Erin: This is the second time I’ve done this to you, isn’t it?

    @Jen: I’m just going to start raiding your bookshelves, it will save me time.

    @Lisa: ARMED & MAGICAL is at the top of my “to buy” list.

    @Trevas: Thanks, I’ll look into Ciara Gold’s stuff.

  7. Say, I have pointy ears and a sword….

  8. Don’t be a fibber, Max…you do not have either. Or do you?

  9. Pingback: Top 10 Books of 2009 « Faust’s Fantastically Fantasmagoric Forum

Leave a Reply

