Happy Birthday, Poe!

Today is Edgar Allan Poe’s 200th birthday.  Or, would be if he were still alive.  Of course, since it’s Poe we’re talking about, maybe he is still alive.

The New York Times has a nifty little slide show to celebrate the occasion.  Not to be outdone, I wanted to post a clip of Poe’s The Raven.  But, which one?  Sure, there’s the awesome Homer Simpson version.  Or the Vincent Price/Peter Lorre version.  In the end, though, I think I picked the right one:

4 responses to “Happy Birthday, Poe!

  1. I need to add “see the Poe Toaster” to my list of things I must do before I die. Leave it to Poe to have such an awesome tradition created for him.

    Can’t watch the video right now, but your Twitter description has sufficiently piqued my curiosity, and I’m kinda ansty about it now. Gah!

  2. Love it.. thank you. Now I don’t have to go out looking for a Raven video.

  3. I just read The Raven to my littlest yesterday. I loved seeing the mesmerized look on his face. I can’t wait until he is old enough for the Telltale Heart!

  4. Christopher Walken, YES! I love Walken and Poe so this was fantastic.

Leave a Reply

