We Were Warned

Something’s been gnawing at the back of my brain for a few days.  I’m not sure if this is it or not.  But, the idea sort of popped up during my second cup of coffee this morning and, with a little bit of work, it could be something.  As it stands, there really isn’t much to differentiate it from countless other books, video games, and role-playing games.

Anyways…here’s the chunk of marble that may or may not have a statue hidden inside:

We were warned

We were told that one day all of our science, our technology would be useless.  What they never told us–what they could never have guessed–was how it would all come to a crashing halt.  We expected the apocalypse to come in the form of plague or fallout.  We thought our undoing would be biological or nuclear.  But this?

No one knows where it came from, the magic.  Had it always been here?  Hiding.  Were all the old stories about dragons, gods and wizards true?  Had the Age of Reason simply followed on the heels of the Age of Magic?  It’s pointless to try and figure out.  The damage has been done.  Humanity is scattered, suddenly no longer at the top of the food chain.  Our cities are in ruins, the deserted streets now the hunting ground for creatures that defy description.  The stuff of nightmares now prowl our waking lives.

Some optimists think we can rebuild society.

The more realistic among us are just trying to survive.


8 responses to “We Were Warned

  1. Well, I’m intrigued!

  2. I like it. The magic part was the thing that pulled me in. I think it’s definitely worth developing.

    Oh, btw, apropos of your twitter dream, I sometimes have dreams about people whom I’ve never met in real life, and last night I dreamt that I came to your house to pick up a book. Very exciting stuff, I know, but I thought you might get a kick out of that. 🙂

  3. It raised enough questions to get me curious, that’s for sure. I wonder, if you just started working on it, if the special thing you’re looking for, something to differentiate it, might come out on its own.

    Also, I’m rather amazed you could have such an interesting pitch when all you have so far is the idea. I can barely manage the pitch when I’ve written the whole freaking thing!

  4. Awesome. Love the last line.

  5. Good stuff. I would read it.

  6. Thanks everyone.

    @celticbuffy Hopefully it will develop in an intriguing direction. 🙂

    @Elizabeth What was the book? Was it a Gaiman…yeah, probably was.

    @Kristin The speed with which this developed is one of the things that has me wondering if maybe I’ve seen it too many places already. I also think part of the idea came from a show I saw about the Black Plague.

    @Jill That last line is one of the most pessimistic things I’ve written in a while. Kinda felt good.

    @Jeff Well, with any luck you won’t be alone.

  7. Gimme some more, Faust!

  8. …………go with it Danno….

Leave a Reply

