I’m a Man of My Word

About a month ago, I wrote that I was fully prepared to ditch DC Comics depending on the outcome of their Batman R.I.P. storyline.  Well, the last issue’s come out, it’s been read, debated, and deconstructed by folks with way more patience than I.  But, in the final analysis, Grant Morrison and DC win.  I’m out.

10341_400x600

I have a reputation for being someone who hates change.  This is, more or less, a well-earned truism.  I don’t.  I have a comfort zone, and I like it there…it’s warm and it’s where I keep all of my stuff.  I get twitchy when plans change at the last minute.  I don’t always react well when friends or relatives radically alter their appearance.  I’d probably eat the same thing for dinner every night.  But, my issues with Morrison and DC have little to do with change.  I know that nothing is set in stone in the comic world.  I know that dead doesn’t mean dead, especially if the potential corpse in question is the star of a hugely successful summer blockbuster.  So, if Bruce Wayne died, I’d be annoyed, but I’d know it was only temporary.

Unfortunately, the problem with Morrison’s R.I.P. is a tad murkier.  I honestly have no idea how it ended.  In fact, I’ve referred to it as a “non-ending.”  There was all this build-up and then…nada.  Is Bruce Wayne dead?  Is he alive?  Is he insane?  I have no fucking clue.  Who is Dr. Hurt?  Well, Morrison keeps changing his mind.  The Black Glove was supposed to be some uber-badass who would topple the Dark Knight once and for all.  Who is the Black Glove?  Just five asshats who symbolize the five fingers of a glove.  Jesus-tap-dancing-Christ.  The least Morrison could have done was come up with a conclusion that pissed me off.  Then I would have respected him.  Instead, he gave me one of the most convoluted story arcs in recent memory.  I can’t remember the last time an issue of Batman made a lick of sense to me…which seems to go against the spirit of a comic about a character fueled by logic and deductive reasoning.  No, there was no anger.  There was confusion and a resounding “Meh.”

I’ve been arguing with DC for a while.  I want to keep giving them money, they don’t seem to want it.  They cancel books.  Kill–or possibly kill–characters for no good reason.  Create elaborate, world-changing events that fail to come close to living up to all of the hype.  Well, you win, DC Comics.  I’ll stop trying to give you my money (with the exception of Green Lantern and Green Lantern Corps., those continue to be pretty rad…at least for now).

4 responses to “I’m a Man of My Word

  1. I’m glad to know I’m not the only person in the world who is that level of change-averse. 🙂

    That said, everything people have told me about DC continuity lately has made me want to continue to stay as far away as possible, even as I read more back issues and become more interested in the history of the DCU. They’re not doing a very good job of selling anyone on their current output.

  2. DC has a bunch of great characters–Batman, Flash, Green Lantern, Catwoman, Green Arrow, Oracle, Metamorpho–but, within the last year or two, everything seems to be derailing pretty quickly.

    If I were you, I’d stick to the trades and not venture past the 52 storyline. Well, with the exception of the “Sinestro Corps. War” arc in GREEN LANTERN. That was pretty frakkin’ awesome.

  3. Other than the major event stuff like 52 and the ever eternal Crisis stuff I don’t collect anything from DC. The only thing I ever really collected from them was Starman. I’ll read stuff in trades once in awhile but DC’c characters just don’t grab me the way Marvel’s do. Then again, I’ve always been more of a Marvel zombie.

  4. I’m a pretty equal opportunity fan–I grew up with Spider-Man, the Hulk, Batman, the FF, Superman. All I really ask is that you give me a good story.

Leave a Reply

