Seven Facts Meme

This meme has been bouncing around some of the blogs I read–you can see it here, here, and here–and, even though I’ve never done such a thing in the past, it seemed harmless enough.  What follows are seven random facts (or, possibly, factoids) about me:

1. I love Wednesday.  I love Wednesday because it is–wait for it–NEW COMICS DAY!  I’ve been collecting comics regularly for about twelve years and, in those dozen years, Wednesday has become the one day of the week I look forward to no matter what.  Fridays are fine.  Weekends have their place.  But Wednesdays rule!  Whether I spend 40 bucks (like I did in the beginning) or 20 bucks (like I do today), I’m there at the Local Comic Shop pretty much every Wednesday, ready to pick up my books.

2. Despite having this blog and doing the whole Twitter thing and being in possession of an iPhone, I continue to be slightly uncomfortable around technology.  If I need to write something down, I immediately reach for a pen and paper.  If I want to brainstorm about a story I’m writing, I’ll grab a notebook.  I think I have some kind of Terminator-driven fear of a robot uprising.

3. I’m overly organized.  Actually, it’s a little more complicated than that.  My books and DVDs are organized by subject (okay, that isn’t too strange).  My clothes are also organized and, after laundry day, everything goes back exactly where it came from.  More than one person has remarked that my folded t-shirts look like they’re still on the shelves at the store.  Actually, one friend was so impressed with my folding skills that she would ask me to come over before a party so I could organize her closets.  Perhaps the height of this organization hoot-nanny occurred in college.  In college, I worked in the kitchen of a small restaurant.  I spent an unnatural amount of my free time making sure that all of the stacks of plates were even.

4. I’m somewhat shy and socially awkward.  Now, I know there are people who can walk into a room of strangers and shine.  I know this because I’m friends with some of them.  I am not one of these people.  It takes me a while to warm up to new people (sometimes years).  Of course, once I do warm up to you, I’m damned gregarious.

5. I love learning things.  As a kid, when I was bored, I’d pick up a random volume of the encyclopedia and just read about stuff.  I watched PBS.  In college, I would take classes that had nothing to do with my major because they looked interesting.  I can watch the History Channel or the Discovery Channel at the drop of a hat.  Not only do I like learning things, but my ability to recall the lamest piece of trivia about the strangest topics has earned me quite a reputation amongst friends and family.

6. I consider the following to be my “Most Embarrassing Moment” (your mileage may vary): I am a huge fan of Joss Whedon.  Not only is he the man responsible for two-and-a-half of my all-time favorite shows (Angel kind of sagged there in the middle years), but he’s probably become the biggest influence on my own writing.  A few years back, I was able to get the Whedon-y One’s autograph at a comic convention.  I waited on line.  And, when I got up to the table and we exchanged the usual pleasantries, I said: “Will we get to see more Xander next season?” (Note: this occurred between seasons 4 and 5, after the main characters had gone off to college and fractured somewhat as a cohesive group.)  Whedon responded in the affirmative.  It should have ended there, but it didn’t.  I, for some reason beyond the ken of God or Man, added: “Good.  I like Xander.”  That conversation probably didn’t even register on Whedon’s Weird-Fan-O-Meter, but I’m still kicking myself.

7. My favorite foods are pickles, cheese, peanut butter, pretzels, and coffee.  If I could figure out a recipe that included all of these things and didn’t make me vomit, I’d do the Happy Dance.

Now I guess I have to tag a bunch of folks (hey man, I don’t make the rules)…so, tag, you’re it:

1. Max

2. Twyst

3. Kym

4. Erin

5. Chris

8 responses to “Seven Facts Meme

  1. Oh you are an evil man. Say that Whedon moment cracks me up.

  2. Hmm, now I have to figure out a meme response that includes pickles, cheese, peanut butter, pretzels, and coffee.

  3. Pingback: seven freaking things « celluloid blonde

  4. Heh. I like Xander. Nice. Ooh the tagging love.. Let me ponder 7 things. = )

  5. Pingback: October Sunrise a la Halloween « REDHEADED BLACKBELT and Other Strange Connections

  6. Oh yeah, everyone loves the Xander story. I still have nightmares and wake up in a cold sweat over it, but everyone else thinks it’s hy-larious.

  7. Ooh la la, you are sounding like Jayne.

  8. Found your blog through the 30-something Bloggers site. I could have written number four myself!

Leave a Reply

