An Apology

Yes, as often happens, I said something here without completely thinking it through.

First off, I would like to openly apologize to Judd Winick. I would also like to apologize to anyone who read that post and was offended, enraged, or nauseated (all very valid reactions). My intent was not to do any of the aforementioned.

I would like to attempt to clarify my statement to clear up any misunderstanding.

Many people felt–quite understandably based upon the words I chose–that I “don’t like when gay rights are shoved in my face.” That is not true. My issues with Winick’s run on Green Lantern had nothing to do with his introduction of a gay character. I liked Terry Berg, and the storyline involving him getting attacked was heartfelt and socially relevant. However, the fall-out from that story–ie: Kyle giving up on humanity and exiling himself into space–was lame. I know one thing has little to do with the other, and making a connection like that was both irresponisble and ignorant.

So, in point of fact, I did not stop reading Green Lantern because of Terry Berg. I did not stop reading it because Winick attempted to tell a socially conscious story. And, I most certainly did not stop reading it because I’m against gay rights. I honestly believe that characters in comic books should accurately reflect the entire scope of humanity.

Once again, I offer my sincerest apologies to any who were offended by my earlier post. There are days when, despite my best efforts, I’m a bit of a tool.

Leave a Reply

