Four on the Floor #11: Speeches to Make When You Are As Mad As Hell and Not Going to Take it Anymore

The Situation: The chips are down. The odds are stacked against you. But, you know what you have to do is right. It’s important. And, you need to convince your friends, crew, soldiers, or whoever that your course of action is the right one. What do you do? Well, you make a rousing speech. It doesn’t need to be long, or pretty, but it does need to get the blood pumping.

The Criteria: Speeches are a dime a dozen. But, only a handful get that spine-tingling, heart-racing response you’re looking for. They are the kind of speeches that, no matter how many times you here them, they still make you want to stand up and cheer. They’re the kind of speeches that you can repeat, more or less, word for word.

1. “It’s our time down here”–Mikey Walsh (The Goonies)

2. “Today, we celebrate our Independence Day”–President Whitmore (Independence Day)

3. “The line must be drawn here”–Captain Picard (Star Trek: First Contact)

4. “I aim to misbehave”–Mal Reynolds (Serenity)

I have no idea why I couldn’t find this clip anywhere on the internet…come on, internet, what gives? So, instead, we’ll just have to settle with the transcript (unless anyone knows where I can find a clip):

“This report is maybe twelve years old. Parliament buried it, and it stayed buried till River dug it up. This is what they feared she knew. And they were right to fear because there’s a whole universe of folk who are gonna know it, too. They’re gonna see it. Somebody has to speak for these people. You all got on this boat for different reasons, but you all come to the same place. So now I’m asking more of you than I have before. Maybe all. Sure as I know anything I know this, they will try again. Maybe on another world, maybe on this very ground swept clean. A year from now, ten, they’ll swing back to the belief that they can make people…better. And I do not hold to that. So no more running. I aim to misbehave.”

5 responses to “Four on the Floor #11: Speeches to Make When You Are As Mad As Hell and Not Going to Take it Anymore

  1. St. Crispin’s Day speech done by Branagh We few, we happy few. we band of brothers.

    The best ever.

  2. Mal is my favorite. He had real good lines at Battle of Serenity too.

  3. I love anything that springs forth, Athena-like, from the head of Joss, but just thinking about Bill Pullman’s speech gives me chills.

  4. I swear I left a response yesterday with Branagh doing Hal on St. Crispin’s day. I even left a youtube link.

    That is my favorite rallying cry. We few, we happy few, we band of brothers.

  5. great post, awesome videos, great list!

Leave a Reply

