Genre Movies V: The Quest For Mysteries

The AFI’s definition of a mystery is any film that “revolves around the solution of a crime.”  Admittedly, this is a pretty broad definition, and allows a certain degree of latitude–for example, a lot of movies that are classified as “thrillers” revolve around a mystery that needs to be solved.

Here are my picks for the Top 10 Mysteries:

1. Chinatown

2. Who Framed Roger Rabbit?

3. The Maltese Falcon

4. Seven

5. Zodiac

6. Kiss Kiss Bang Bang

7. Fargo

8. Silence of the Lambs

9. The Thin Man

10. Memento

3 responses to “Genre Movies V: The Quest For Mysteries

  1. Mmmm, I swear I came back in and added Roger Rabbit to my animated list before I read this post. I actually haven’t seen any but Roger on your list. Let’s see what I would choose.

    Rear Window (Jimmy Stewart, Classic, gorgeous cinamatography, great writing)

    Murder by Death (I laid on the floor on the theater I laughed so hard when I saw this one.)

    Sixth Sense (Absolutely the greatest of all time)

    Gosford Park (Beautifully done. Upstairs downstairs commentary on life)

    Sorry Wrong Number (a bit dated now but incredibly creepy. I only saw it once but its stuck with me)

    Well, I can’t come up with any other great Mystery movies. Funny I love the genre in books but tend not to be too enamored of it on the Big Screen.

  2. I almost put Roger Rabbit on the Animated list, until I realized that the AFI might not qualify it as “Animated” since it also has real people in it.

    Murder By Death is one of the best spoofs ever made. Gosford Park is brilliant. My feelings about Sixth Sense are tainted by the fact that the “Big Twist Ending” was spoiled for me before I saw it (to this day I don’t know if I’d have been able to figure it out).

  3. Kick whoever spoiled the film for you. I totally admit to being sucked in by Sixth Sense. And the even knowing the ending (I’ve seen it twice more) I love it.

Leave a Reply

