Genre Movies IV: Animated With A Vengeance

According to the AFI, a film whose “images are primarily created by computer or hand and characters are voiced by actors” is classified as an animated film.

While I was putting this list together, I kept coming back to Disney movies.  Don’t get me wrong, I like Disney movies, but I’m sure there are other animated films out there worthy of being on this list.

 Anyway, without further ado, here are my picks for the 10 Best Animated Films:

1. The Lion King

2. The Simpsons Movie

3. Transformers: The Movie (1986)

4. Watership Down

5. Toy Story

6. Batman: Mask of the Phantasm

7. The Jungle Book

8. The Incredibles

9. Robin Hood (1973)

10. Aladdin

3 responses to “Genre Movies IV: Animated With A Vengeance

  1. Pocahantus (every time I watch it, I am torn between the visual beauty woven with the story and how unalike the story is to the Truth. Yaaaay, for awesome storytelling and amazing graphics. But let’s call it something else and stop pretending it has anything to do with history)

    Mulan (see comment above but less so as I am not as culturally invested)

    The Lion King (introduced a whole generation to afro beat music–beautiful animation also)

    Aladdin (Robin Williams-no need to say more)

    The Hunchback of Norte Dame (the fire scene with the bad guy is one of the best depictions of pure lust ever–amazing that they did it in a kid’s movie)

    Bambi (it is a classic)

    Charlotte’s Web (Chokes me up every time)

    Toy Story (The First great computer animation)

    Shrek (Great for adults too!)

    Princess Mononoke (I am not that much into anime type but I can see this is a classic and my kids love it still)

  2. Shrek was really good…but, in my mind, an ogre is just no match for giant robots and Batman.

    I also think a lot of the post-Lion King Disney movies suffered in comparison, although Tarzan was quite good.

  3. Thank you for your website 🙂
    I made on photoshop backgrounds for myspace or youtube and ect..
    my backgrounds:http://tinyurl.com/5b8ksl
    all the best and thank you again!

Leave a Reply

