Genre Movies III: The Great Western Caper

A western, as defined by the AFI, is a film “set in the American West (well, duh) that embodies the spirit, the struggle and the demise of the new frontier.”

With that in mind, here are my picks for the Top 10 Westerns:

1. The Magnificent Seven

2. Pale Rider

3. The Searchers

4. Blazing Saddles

5. The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance

6. 3:10 to Yuma (2007)

7. Unforgiven

8. Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid

9. The Quick and the Dead

10. The Wild Bunch

3 responses to “Genre Movies III: The Great Western Caper

  1. I haven’t seen the new 3:10 to Yuma with Tudyk. I want to. It sure received good reviews.

    I loved Blazing Saddles, The Quick and the Dead and the Magnificent Seven but you forgot the best

    The Good the Bad and the Ugly
    High Plains Drifter
    And every list needs a musical
    Paint Your Wagon (okay it was terrible but its a musical and it has Clint Eastwood which gives it extra points)

    The Outlaw Josie Wales
    True Grit

    I’m short two. Oh well, not my favorite genre!

  2. I’m ashamed to say, I haven’t seen True Grit.

    And it was really tough trying to pick a classic Eastwood western, so I went with the one I saw first: Pale Rider…although they’re all so very, very good.

  3. Holden Caulfield

    No Good, Bad and the Ugly? Pale Rider is the exact same thing as Shane except Shane is better.

Leave a Reply

