Mmmm…Genre Movies… (Sci-Fi)

Last month, the American Film Institute announced that it will be compiling a list of the 100 best genre movies ever made. The list will be broken up into separate Top 10 lists for each genre.

I’m going to do my best to put together as many of my own lists as I can, but I thought I’d start with my list of the 10 Best Sci-Fi Movies. Since people have different definitions of what “science fiction” is, I’ll use the AFI’s definition, which you can find here.

Here’s my Top 10 list (in no particular order):

1. RoboCop
2. Empire Strikes Back
3. Escape From New York
4. Blade Runner
5. The Day the Earth Stood Still
6. The Fly (1986)
7. Terminator 2: Judgement Day
8. Alien
9. Serenity
10. Star Trek: First Contact

6 responses to “Mmmm…Genre Movies… (Sci-Fi)

  1. That’s a damn good list, but I can’t believe you put First Contact over Wrath of Khan. That’s like puting Brosnan over Connery.

    Personally, I would add (in no particular order) Starship Troopers, E.T., The Matrix, Aliens, Invasion of the Body Snatchers (1978), City of Lost Children, THX-1138, Star Wars, and Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (the best Phillip K. Dick story that Phillip K. Dick never wrote).

  2. I thought about Khan, since it was on AFI’s short-list…I think I’ve just always been partial to the Next Generation crew.

  3. Blade Runner is number one (Sorry, I love Serenity but it isn’t Blade Runner)

    Then in no particular order.
    Serenity (Okay, this one’s next because of Firefly)
    ET
    Aliens
    I, Robot
    Empire Strikes Back
    Escape from NY
    Road Warrior (Mad Max)
    Back to the Future
    Rocky Horror Picture Show (Have to have at least one musical;>)

  4. Nice choices. Personally, I was surprised at how good I, Robot was.

    The funny thing about ET is, as large a cultural landmark as it is, I have absolutely no desire to see it again.

  5. I have no desire to see it again in the immediate future. I have 3 children spread out over 12 years. I have seen ET at least 16 times. And I’ll probably see it 16 more but not for a year at least.

  6. That makes sense: 16 is a lot (and if your kids are anything like I was, it was back-to-back viewings). However, I’ve turned my back on ET after only 2.

Leave a Reply

