Genre Movies II: Rise of the Gangsters

The AFI defines a “gangster film” as “a genre that centers on organized crime or maverick criminals in a twentieth century setting.”  The AFI is only concerned with American movies, which is a bit of a problem when I try to pick gangster films, since a lot of gangster flicks focus on the Mafia and I’m not a big fan of Mafia movies.  So, I’ve decided to go off on my own and include the Brits, too (man, do I love British gangsters).

Here are my picks for the Top 10 Best Gangster Films:

1. The Sting

2. The Grifters

3. No Country For Old Men

4. Get Carter (1971)

5. The Long Good Friday

6. The Italian Job (2003)

7. The Departed

8. Goodfellas

9. The Killers (1964)

10. The Usual Suspects

8 responses to “Genre Movies II: Rise of the Gangsters

  1. What, no Scarface? I’m not partial to gangster films but I think Scarface was one of the definitive movies in my life. The moral corruption was agonizing and, for a resident of Humboldt Co. way too real.

  2. Scarface is one of those movies that I can watch and enjoy, but not as much as other people seem to. I understand why people like it, on an intellectual level, but I never have that kind of reaction to it myself.

  3. +2 pts for liking redheaded nerdy girls

    -2 pts for being morally unfit

    Score—somewhat ambiguous.

  4. Wow. “Morally unfit” and “somewhat ambiguous”…y’know, I’ve been called worse.

  5. I’ll have to work harder.

  6. Something to shoot for.

  7. Holden Caulfield

    A really good gangster film is reservoir dogs by Tarantino. Another good film though not really gangster is Dog Day Afternoon with Al Pacino this movie is suprisingly good. I agreed with the AFI gangster genres except I don’t think Bonnie and Clyde was a gangster film.

  8. Reservoir Dogs is the only Tarantino movie I like.

    I think I agreed with 45-50% of what the AFI listed in each genre.

Leave a Reply

