The Guild: Okay, do people like this actually exist?

South Park‘s done it.  American Dad‘s done it.  The Simpsons even did it.  Are people really that obsessed with MMORPGs?  I’ve never played one…and have no desire to do so–I know, it’s probably a huge chink in my geek armor, but it doesn’t seem like my kinda thing.  But, it does seem to be a goldmine for comedy. 

Case in point: The Guild.  This Web series follows a group of MMORPG players who clearly have issues dealing with the real world.  I’ve only watched the first episode so far, but it’s pretty damned funny (although you probably shouldn’t take my word for it, since I’m a sucker for socially awkward yet remarkably hot redheaded nerd-girls):

5 responses to “The Guild: Okay, do people like this actually exist?

  1. Wait, “socially awkward yet remarkably hot redheaded nerd-girls” . . . How come I’ve never seen commentary on Willow from Buffy then? Or have I come late to the feast. She’s a favorite of mine.

  2. Ah, Willow….words do not do her justice. When she hurts, we all hurt. ‘Nuff said.

  3. Oh, and speaking of all things Joss: apparently, the lead in The Guild (Felicia Day) played Potential Slayer Vi in Buffy’s final season.

  4. Shhh, I’ve only recently started on Buffy and have just finished season 3 and am halfway through Angel season1. No spoilers, please;>

  5. Oops. Sorry, didn’t mean to ruin anything.

    On a non-spoilery, editorializy note: Season 1 of Angel = not bad. Seasons 2-4 = sub-par. Season 5 = A++

Leave a Reply

